Glorious Interruptions

The 31 Day Challenge is almost at a close for me and countless others who embarked on this journey twenty-nine days ago. For various reasons, this was more of a challenge for me this time around. Last year, I wrote everyday, even if I had to stay up into the wee hours of the morning to get a post completed. And God was faithful to inspire me everyday of that journey. It was a thrill and a joy.

This year He still was faithful, speaking to me daily about Living Your Story or  umpteen other things I needed inspiration on. He has always been present and for that I am grateful. But it has been difficult. I look at my index page and see days with no postings and I cringe. A perfectionist hates to see empty spaces where there should be hyperlinked blog post titles. The team sponsoring the challenge has gently encouraged us along the way to not beat ourselves up for missing days. So, I am resisting the temptation to pinch my head off my shoulders.

I want to be the kind of girl that shows up. I think my writing mentor said that in class. I really do. I want to show up everyday and create, write, paint, love, share. I don’t want to let anyone down, but even more, I don’t want to let myself down. This challenge is for others, but mostly it’s for me, the writer.

practice

I am learning to be kind to myself. Being kind to one’s self is counterintuitive for a perfectionist. We relentlessly drive ourselves to complete tasks, even when life interrupts our plans. This year, I did give into some interruptions, and some were pretty glorious.

  • Seeing my uncle’s daughter get married on the beach and celebrating their union with jazz music and lovely company.
  • Spending three nights with my Irish Twin – three sleepy, funny, giggly nights.
  • Celebrating my friend’s birthday week. I love that she allowed herself to be a production this year.

And so much more.

The point is, part of living your story is to be open to the interruptions, glorious or otherwise. And when the interruptions jack up your to do list, be kind to yourself and go with it. Stories, like life, go off script all the time. But some of those unplanned, impromptu moments can be very special and insightful, and sometimes just fun.

Life took me off script this month, and I’m good with that.

31 dAYS

Leave a Reply

